Con-nerd-sseur Catch-Up

 

Oh my goodness, I cannot believe that this has been inactive for a month. Well actually, I can…I can explain! I was working on the Silmarillion (which was a task in itself) and finally gave up after starting over twice. So that was my initial hindrance. My secondary hindrance was the fact that Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell is a massive undertaking (so the time between finishing this and a post would be quite a while).  And, third-endary (yes that is not a word) was that my 18 month old macbook pro, top of the line apparently, decided to crash about 2 weeks ago. This crash led to me not having consistent computer access and the loss of all my audiobooks. So, I do apologize for the few of you who have been keeping up with this blog. But I have not been idle in my absence. In my absence, I have discover the towering stack of comic books and graphic novels on my desk that have given me hours of enjoyment for the past few weeks. So this is tangential from  NPR‘s top 100 Sci-fi and Fantasy list I have been working on, but no less entertaining.

As I read more, I find that I have less and less to say about each book. You notice some things more and some less as you progress in a genre. Also, in light of recent (well recent about a few weeks ago) listenings to the podcast “Writing Excuses” I have decided to take a note from their book. They keep their podcasts to 15 minutes because, as they say, “you’re in a hurry and we’re not that smart.” Similarly, you have better things to do and attend to than what I have to say, and I am not a Science-Fi and Fantasy expert , so I don’t have much to say that you may not have come to conclusions of yourself. As such, I will try to keep my comments considerably shorter and more concise. With some of the graphic novel series, I may even just blanket statement then since I go through those them like crack. So here goes Con-nerd-sseur Tangential Entry #1.

 

1. Transmetropolitan-Warren Ellis

I began this series in the close of last year and over the past three weeks have read Volumes 3,4, and 5. Need I say more? This is one of the few reads I have had that is a source of continual laughter for me. Spider Jerusalem is a ballsy, psychotic and violent (yet superbly relateable) columnist that takes passion in the truth. The things I like about this is the constant laughter, intelligent writing of Ellis, and the commentary on politics that we get into (particularly in the last 3 issues). This is a must read for any one who considers themselves to have half a brain and any wit or sarcasm in their bones. Disclaimer: not for the easily offended.

 

2. Captain Swing and the Electrical Pirates of Cindry Island

Since I am new to Ellis I am not going to say this is not typical him, but this definitely wasn’t Transmet. Captain Swing is a steampunk (as you can tell from the cover) story about a band of pirates and the unlikely man who gets dragged on their mission. I’m not going to spoil the story, but this is definitely a great read. It is the same smart writing that I am accustomed to with Transmet, only it is the 1800s. Slowly I am becoming more of an Ellis fanboy.

3. Lucifer Morningstar #1, Mike Carey

This is also one I have meant to read for a few months now and finally picked up. This book is phenomenal. It’s a great change from Transmet. Trade crass, invasive, and uncensored Spider Jerusalem for the aloof, suave, sexy, self-interested (but in a good way) Lucifer  and you get this. The chilling intelligence and resolve in this character is conveyed well by Mike Carey and if you like journeys and explorations into Hell and other dimensions or realms of time and space, you will love this. I certainly do.

4. Gates of Gotham,Scott Snyder and Kyle Higgins

Nothing special. Good, quick read. Interesting steampunk story of the development of Gotham’s architecture and “royal families,” as it were. Again, in comparison with these other titles, nothing wow-ing but still an OK read. I think Pain and Prejudice (focusing on the Penguin looks much more promising however).

5. Sandman Vol. 4 and 5 (?), Neil Gaiman

I forget if I read the fourth one last week or not (titles and panels are blending together), but I distinctly remember reading A Game of You. But these two go over Morpheus’ possession of Hell (given from Lucifer) and the dream journey of Barbie against the Cuckoo. Both of these are great. I liked 4 a little bit more just because we get more face time with Morpheus and the other immortals than in a game of you. But nonetheless, both are really good reads. Precisely what I have come to expect of Neil Gaiman.

6. The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Vol. 1, Alan Moore

After reading Alan Moore’s How-to on writing comics, I finally picked up the first League. I got it a while ago and never felt in the mood to read it, but at last I have. I have no quarrels with this book. It is certainly a great change from the incredibly complex Watchmen. This is fun and entertaining if you are familiar with the classic literature he references. A great read, good work by Moore. I just got Vol. 2 the other day and already started reading.

Well, that’s about it for my reading these past few weeks. Hope you guys found these helpful and or enjoyable. I seem to be turning this less into a review spot and more just a public tracker of what I have read. Please leave comments, concerns or likes if you like my page or have comments or concerns for it. Enjoy life and reading. Until next time.

P.S. I almost bouldered my first gym V4! 😀

~ by theblogofmatthew on February 28, 2012.

2 Responses to “Con-nerd-sseur Catch-Up”

  1. Awesome stuff! If you love Ellis’ stuff you should check out Planetary and the arc he did on Secret Avengers!

    • Planetary is on my list. I did not know he did anything on the Secret Avengers? I will definitely check that out too. He’s certainly done well with Transmet, I’d love to see what he does with other stories.

Leave a Reply

 
