Con-nerd-sseur Log Book #10- The Road

First off, I can’t believe it took me this long to get around to it. Actually, I can. I had 2 of my 3 best (and at some times only) friends come up and visit me in Maryland. We played all the way through Horde, beat Beast on hardcore (or got close-I forget…all the carnage blends after a while), went climbing at the Rockville Earth Treks (which kicked my ass and made me jealous of their walls), and beat Jet Set Radio Future. After those three days, I pretty much flew out here and then started my internship the day after and school the next. I have been catching up on sleeping patterns, cooking for myself (healthier cooking for myself…no more Hamburger Helper for this guy) and just getting things back in order.

The holidays were great. I was able to get some much needed reading done (as you all are privy to) and to start eating healthier, go to a Raven’s game, catch up with family, get some time to catch up with old friends and start making some new ones. But, enough about me. I’ve got some school work  I need to start on and some more sleeping to get through (and with my dreams taking on such vivid and lucius (sp?) form, I can’t wait to get to some more dreaming). But here it is, book 10!

Book: The Road, Cormac McCarthy

Time Period: January 12th-January 13th

Source: Audiobook-Westminster Library

This post accounts for the 10th book of my literary taste testing NPR‘s list of the top 100 Science Fiction and Fantasy Books. I liked this book but I felt that viewing the trailer for the movie skewed and sullied my expectations. So on one note, I felt a little let down because there was something I was expecting the entire time that didn’t materialize. On the whole I liked how intimately we see the father and son, the haunting view of their world, and the father’s struggle to keep his son away from the “bad guys” as they search for more “good guys.” I liked the intimate nature of the story. It was on a smaller, more manageable scale than say Dune or Ender’s Game, and I like it for that. It felt almost like reading a Neil Gaiman book like Stardust with how briskly we pass through this smaller world. This helps create the theme of isolation of course and makes it more haunting the further we get in the story. I liked the haunting world we find ourselves thrust into. I particularly liked when they would run into conflicts like the man stealing the shopping cart or the final confrontation. I loved the grittiness of the people and the father’s apprehension toward and distrust of others. When he shot the flare gun into archer’s house and he starts screaming, I cringed to think of the flame burning away at this hollow, emaciated being. When the father is about to shoot the stinking man that stole the cart, I could see the stink of the man accused in my head and loved the dialogue. The truly Darwinian nature of this world (he would steal our food and kill us, why should we not do the same-juxtapozed with the child’s innocence) is most palpable in the small scenes of conflict. Lastly, the father’s struggle to keep his son oblivious to the terrible position they were in was almost painful to read. I mean, the kid isn’t dumb…just innocent, but watching the father trying to protect the kid and do what is necessary while having to show him love, affection and keep him from going completely insane was what made this book a strong favorite for me.

My only complaint is of my own fault. I saw the trailer for the film and assumed the movie was about this man and child on the run from a band of armed men trying to extinguish the last threads of society. So, the entire time I was expecting the man that we saw in the beginning to have his group of people track them down and the father would have to start offing them. Needless to say this was not the case and I will not comment on which I would have preferred. But, with that expectation, I was even wary in the end when the child was alone and that man came to get him. I was just waiting for the man to turn on the kid and just kill him. But nope, didn’t happen. Thank God. I mean, I was expecting it but, if it had happened I would have been livid. So…thanks Hollywood for distorting my reading experience.

All around, this is a good book. Not entirely up my alley. I think I am more of a Dune, Ender’s Game, 30,000 Leagues kinda guy, but I can certainly see why people would enjoy this book. I may not read it again, I may. Just depends. Good book overall, certainly worth at least the initial read.

On a side note, I have now completed 10% of the readings on the literary taste testing list. So I feel it is time that I share a couple stats updates with you as I have grown a bit over the past few weeks.

+150 EXP, Reading speed -.5% Story Comprehension +2%, Story Reference Ability +4%, Story Craft +3%

Level Up!

Thanks for reading guys. I hope you find these things some what helpful. I’m not the most eloquent writer (my syntax and diction can be a bit spotty if you couldn’t tell from reading anything I have written)  so comments are always welcome. I enjoy sharing these little literary explorations with you guys and I hope you find something enjoyable in them as well. Shares, follows, and likes are all welcome as well. Until next time (which may be a good while as I am getting acclimated to the grind again-but eventually), keep on the look out for something interesting to read or to write.

P.S.S.S.

Play Jet Set Radio Future (great game and story-my favorite game next to Fable), read Y the Last Man (super funny and thought provoking), listen to the Prairie Home Companion podcast (if you are from South or Midwest and a bit of a sarcastic fellow or gal you may like it), watch the Maltese Falcon (first movie I watched in Film Noir class-so freaking good) and…read MY BLOG! 😉

~ by theblogofmatthew on January 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
