Con-nerd-sseur Log Book # 7- Ender’s Game

Book: Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card

Time Period: December 30th-December 31st (traveling to and from Grandparents in W. VA)

Source: Audiobook-Westminster Library

This is going to be a relatively short post followers. I finished Ender’s Game last night and was thoroughly pleased both with the script as well as the postscript interview. I am already making some headway into the sci-fi giant Dune and do not expect to get to you guys for a good while. So let’s get to it.

The only thing that I noticed off was that I could predict where some of the story was going (Dink showing up to help Ender in the bathroom, the inclusion of all Ender’s best friends in the Commander training, and the fantasy games foreshadowing) but this didn’t detract from this story. In fact, I think that the claim it is “predictable” in plot could even be interpreted as the inevitable path it would take based on the likelihood of how characters act. Nonetheless, I will neither designate this as a strength or weakness. My favorite parts of the story were the plot twists, the characterization (the higher-ups’ asides, Ender’s personal thoughts) and the tying together of everything in the story.

The world Card creates is vivid, tangible, well-crafted and above all human. This enduring sense of humanity is what makes the world so wonderful to explore. I found it great to get into the motivation of why the higher-ups are doing what they are doing to Ender because their moral apprehension and sense of necessity made them complex and very human. The plot twists (which you are all aware of if you have read the book) are awesome. The discovery near the end about the training program was especially great. As you can tell I am relatively speechless about this because it was so intense and relatable that I am certain to read and re-read this story for further understanding.

All-in-all, the themes explored in the story are adequately addressed through predictable events (but an overall twisty and interesting plot) as well as thorough, complex characters. Of course Ender’s complexity gets the most attention (he is one of the most complex and deeply fleshed out characters I have read thus far in any book), but he does not steal the show from side characters. The humanity that we see in characters such as Dink, Valentine, Bean, Graff, Rackham, and Peter, to name a few, create a more intricate set of relations and challenges for Ender. The twists are the result of these complexities and made me unable to stop listening to this story. I found myself not even sleeping just to know what happens next. This story is fantastic, one of my favorite so far. I find it hard to believe that any other story on this list will be able to match this one in my book, but I would be glad to be proven wrong. Read, re-read, and re-re-read this book.

Hope you guys enjoyed this quite short post. Comments and likes are always welcome. Thanks again for reading. Hope to post again for you guys soon!

 

~ by theblogofmatthew on January 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
